Ski and snowboard trips in Japan

Browse 97 trips for skiing and snowboarding in Japan. See where each trip goes and how the days are planned.

Figures from 97 published listingscomputed Nov 2, 2026How these figures are made

Trips97
Fromabout 1,635 USD
SeasonDec – Marbusiest Jan – Feb
Companies19
RidersBeginner to expert
Sport8063

01When they run

340 of 377 departures start in January or February.

20
185
155
17

Recorded departures by start month, August to July; not a snow forecast or availability check.

MonthDeparturesTrips
December2014
January18573
February15565
March1712

02Where

Of our listed trips, Honshu has 52 and Hokkaido 37. Hokkaido’s are mostly guided, Honshu’s mostly coached.

27 trip locations in Japan

Pins show the approximate main trip area—not a route, meeting point, or full itinerary. Confirm exact locations in the company's trip details.

TripsPrice a day, typicalLength, typicalCompaniesMost listed places
HonshuCoached 33 · Guided 1052≈309 USD7 days10Hoshino Resorts Nekoma Mountain 15 · Madarao Kogen Mountain Resort 13 · Nozawa Onsen 7 · Akakura Onsen Ski Area 6 · Appi Kogen Ski Resort 3
HokkaidoGuided 21 · Coached 1237≈400 USD8 days16Niseko United 10 · Tomamu Ski Resort 5 · Asahidake 3 · Furano 3 · Furano ski resort 3

8 listings have unresolved or mixed locations and are excluded from these groups.

03Who is on the snow with you

45 trips are coached, 35 guided, 11 hosted and 4 independent; 2 don’t say.

Coached

45

Professional coaches lead the group, select suitable terrain, and provide instruction and personalized feedback to help you improve.

Guided

35

Professional guides lead the group and select suitable terrain and routes based on conditions and ability.

Hosted

11

Trip hosts ski or ride with the group, help everyone get oriented, and share local knowledge.

Independent

4

Ski or ride independently, without trip staff accompanying you on the mountain.

CoachedGuidedHostedIndependent
Length, typical7 days9 days7 days—
Price a day, typical≈309 USD≈447 USD≈334 USD—
Middle half≈278 USD – 334 USD≈375 USD – 612 USD≈312 USD – 360 USD—
Guests per coach or guide6 per coachstated on 25 of 456 per guidestated on 26 of 35——
Start at Beginner18004
Lift pass included44 of 4529 of 3511 of 114 of 4

Each trip counts in one support group. A coached label does not establish that guiding is included.

04What a day costs

Guided trips list at ≈447 USD a day, coached trips at ≈309 USD.

typical ≈348 USD
CoachedGuidedHostedIndependentNot stated

One dot per trip: its lowest listed departure divided by its days. 96 of 97 listings have a usable price and duration. Package inclusions and per-person or group price bases may differ. Approximate currency conversion; each trip page quotes the company’s own currency.

TypicalMiddle half
Coached≈309 USD≈278 USD – 334 USD
Guided≈447 USD≈375 USD – 612 USD
Hosted≈334 USD≈312 USD – 360 USD
All 96 trips≈348 USD≈301 USD – 436 USD

05How long

59 of 97 trips run 6 to 8 days, 39 of them exactly 7.

5
39
15
10
10
7
5
4
1
1
6789101113141516
days

Days from arrival to departure. Days with a coach, guide or host are fewer: stated on 68 trips, typically 4.5 days.

06Who they’re for

22 trips start at Beginner, and 18 of those include instruction.

Beginner22
Intermediate45
Advanced28
Expert2

Each trip at the lowest level it accepts. Beginner does not confirm first-timer acceptance. At the top end, 13 reach Beginner, 12 reach Intermediate, 46 reach Advanced and 26 reach Expert.

Starting levelBeginnerIntermediateAdvancedExpert
Trips2245282
Price a day, typical≈325 USD22 of 22 priced≈348 USD45 of 45 priced≈397 USD27 of 28 priced—2 of 2 priced
Length, typical7 days7 days10 days—
Instruction18 included · 4 not included19 included · 1 at extra cost · 10 not included · 15 not stated6 included · 11 at extra cost · 1 not included · 10 not stated1 included · 1 partly included
Lift pass22 included43 included · 1 partly included · 1 not included23 included · 1 partly included · 2 not included · 2 not stated2 included

Each trip appears once, at its minimum accepted level; it may also accept more experienced riders. Typical values need at least five recorded prices or durations. Prices are package totals divided by calendar days; inclusions and price bases may differ.

07What the price includes

Lodging comes with all 97 trips and a lift pass with 90. All meals come with 28.

LodgingIncluded 97
Lift passIncluded 90 · partly 2 · not included 3 · not stated 2
TransfersIncluded 75 · partly 22
MealsAll meals 28 · some 56 · none 11 · not stated 2
InstructionIncluded 44 · partly 1 · at extra cost 12 · not included 15 · not stated 25
IncludedPartlyAt extra costNot includedNot stated

08What the listings don’t say

What the 97 listings leave out, and what to ask.

25of 97

Whether instruction is included

Ask the companyIs coaching or instruction included, and on how many days?

20of 45 coached

How many guests share a coach

Ask the companyHow many guests share each coach?

9of 35 guided

How many guests share a guide

Ask the companyHow many guests share each guide?

23of 91

How many days someone from the trip is on snow with you

Ask the companyOn how many days is a coach, guide or host with us?

56of 97

Which meals are included: listed as partly included

Ask the companyWhich meals does the price cover?

“Not stated” means the listing doesn’t say. It doesn’t mean the trip leaves it out.

Who runs these trips

Trip counts show how many listings each company has on this page.

97 trips in Japan

View Hokkaido Explorer Tour

Hokkaido Explorer Tour

Whiteroom

From about 4,855 USD13 daysDec – Feb

On-snow support: Guided — guides lead the group and pick the terrain
View Powder Belt Backcountry Tour

Powder Belt Backcountry Tour

Whiteroom

From about 3,966 USD10 daysDec – Feb

On-snow support: Guided — guides lead the group and pick the terrain
View Central Hokkaido Tour

Central Hokkaido Tour

Whiteroom

From about 3,871 USD11 daysDec – Feb

On-snow support: Guided — guides lead the group and pick the terrain
View Yuki Yama Backcountry Tour

Yuki Yama Backcountry Tour

Whiteroom

From about 3,617 USD8 daysJan – Feb

On-snow support: Guided — guides lead the group and pick the terrain
View 5 x Day Powder Tour

5 x Day Powder Tour

Yabai Tours

From 3,430 USD7 daysJan – Feb

On-snow support: Guided — guides lead the group and pick the terrain
Showing 24 of 97

Resorts

Types of trips

How these figures are made

  • Counted from the 97 published trips on Powderscape when this page was built, Nov 2, 2026. A figure changes when a listing does.
  • A listing is Powderscape’s record of the company’s own trip page. “Not stated” means the record doesn’t say; it doesn’t mean the trip leaves it out.
  • Price a day is each trip’s lowest listed departure divided by its days. Companies set prices in their own currency, and each trip page quotes it. Conversions use rates dated 2026-11-01.
  • Typical is the median; the middle half runs from the 25th to the 75th percentile. Browse links open the listings counted by that link.